What is the penalty for driving without a license?
Unlike most tickets, which allow for drivers to attend a defensive driving online or online traffic school program to defer points from their record, driving without a license is considered a category, affectively, unto itself.
The Texas Transportation Code (Chapter 521 – SUB B) states, “A person …, may not operate a motor vehicle on a highway in this state unless the person holds a driver’s license…” Drivers in violation of this law may find themselves with a misdemeanor charge, hefty fines, and additional points on their driving record. On first offense, a person found to be operating a vehicle without a license is likely to see a fine of “no greater than $200”, and from $25 to $200 for their second. A third offense, within one year of the earlier offenses, may result in a fine of up to $500 along with possible jail time of no less than 3 days but no greater than 6 months.
“Habitual offenders”, those cited for a similar offense multiple times, are likely to face an even worse scenario when driving without a license. In 2004 Texas instated a program that, for drivers found guilty of qualify offenses (such as driving without a license), adds an annual surcharge to those drivers for up to three years. Called the “Texas Driver Responsibility Program”, this controversial bill aims to discourage repeat offenders by imposing considerable, long term, financial charges to offending drivers.
Your Best Option: Defensive Driving Online
If you are found in violation of driving without a license multiple times within a short timeframe (less than two year), it may serve your interests to seek legal assistance. While online traffic school courses like Defensive Driving For Dummies offer drivers a convenient way of dismissing most tickets and lower insurance premiums, habitual offenders are not afforded this option. Check with you insurance provider to see if attending an online defensive driving course can help you lower your insurance premiums to potentially offset your fees and penalties.
For more information call 1-800-875-4409 or select your state in the drop down to the left.